- 2023 Dues Investment Schedule
- Children's Vision
- COA Member Resources
- ViewPoints Newsletter
- Healthy Eyes Advantage (HEA)
- Alcon Resources
- Chase for Business Fraud Protection and Cybersecurity Tips
- Member Referrals
- New Practitioner Information
- New Vision Plan HB 18-1012 Law Takes Effect January 1, 2019: Are you prepared?
- Third-Party Information
- Name Change Tips
- Free Legal Consult Benefit
State Board of Optometry
Optometrists practicing in the state of Colorado must hold a current license. This license to practice is granted by the State Board of Optometry and must be renewed periodically as determined by the Board of Optometric Examiners. Every optometrist will complete a form prescribed by the Board and submit a renewal fee in order to receive his/her renewal certificate. Currently, the renewal must occur by the end of March of every odd numbered year.
Every practitioner of optometry shall post and keep conspicuously displayed his/her license certificate in the office wherein he/she practices.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: How much does it cost for a new grad to get their license?
A: $200 for a first time applicant + $200 for the examination
Q: When do licenses get renewed?
A: In March of the renewal year (Current renewal is April 1, 2023-March 31, 2025)
Q: Do all ODs in Colorado renew at the same time?
Q: How many online CE courses are ODs in Colorado allowed to have per license renewal?
A: 16 out of 24 total hours can be live online CE. For more on CE requirements, please refer to the State Board of Optometry's Policies and Guidelines
Q: Where do I renew my license?
A: Online, here: https://apps.colorado.gov/dora/licensing/Default.aspx
For more information, please contact the State Board of Optometry directly.
Colorado State Board of Optometry
1560 Broadway, Suite 1310
Denver, CO 80202
Click here to view the most recent SBO Laws, Rules and Regulations.